what’s a person to do

I was reading about the continued opposition from Catholic employers to the birth control provision in the health care bill. The amount of money that has been spent by our local church leadership in opposition to the health care bill and support of the upcoming marriage amendment has troubled me. As a result,  I have decided to stop giving to the Archdiocese of Minneapolis St. Paul, but instead am sending our monthly contribution directly to Catholic Charities.

Out of curiosity, I checked the health insurance benefits that are available to Davita (my soon to be employer) employees. I was shocked to read that not only is birth control covered, but so are abortion services.  I was floored. Can I work in good conscience for a company that foots the bill for abortion?

I’m convinced that back in the time of Jesus, there were not this many potential moral dilemmas.  It was easy for the Catholics of that time. The ten commandments pretty much covered any issue that would present itself. Today, we as Catholics are asked to weigh in on matters such as birth control, gay marriage, abortion and immigration rights, just to name a few. It is fricken exhausting. I don’t even want to think about where my 401k investments are going. I’m sure if I looked close enough I would find out that I am unwittingly supporting brothels and sweatshops somewhere overseas.

In order to avoid these issues, one would have to go live completely off the grid. As much as I value running water, electricity and booze that I didn’t ferment myself, I admit that life would be so much simpler.

P.S. Today’s planned blog post was going to highlight my latest thrift store finds, but alas my child ran my camera battery down shooting BMX videos. (Without my permission, I would add.) Are there thrift stores off the grid?

Leave a Reply

