it’s beginning to look a lot…..

A few years ago I received a set of coasters as a Christmas gift from a coworker. They were so beautiful. I was amazed to find out that she had made them herself. They were unique and looked like something that could be found in an expensive gift shop like Patina. The instructions were shockingly simple and I told myself that I would create some myself the following Christmas. Earlier this month my sister suggested that we have a coaster making event. So it took four years for me to actually do it. But the results were way worth it.

If you like what you see, go ahead and feel free to give it a go.  You will need:

…4 Stone tiles…Cocktail napkins…Mod Podge…Foam applicator…Small can of clear Polyurethane

Separate the layers of the cocktail napkins until you are down to one layer.  The napkin will be very thin similar to tissue paper. With a sharp scissors, cut the napkin to fit over the top/sides of the coaster.  Place parchment paper down for the tiles to dry on.  I would suggest that you wear gloves. I didn’t and as a result; I spent the whole afternoon peeling the Mod Podge off of my hands.

See directions and pics below.  One of the last steps is to brush on two layers of clear poly.  I do not have pics of this step.  Finally place 4 small round felt buttons on the bottom of each coaster, stack them in groups of 4 and tie with raffia.

1. Start with a dry tile

2. Paint a thin layer of Mod Podge over the top and sides of the tile

3. Position the napkin over the tile so that it completely covers top/sides.

4. Paint a thin layer of Mod Podge over top/sides5. Place on a parchment paper and allow to dry overnight

5. Place on a parchment paper and allow to dry overnight

Leave a Reply

