the continued saga

I received a call today from the Vice Principal.  E had been once again sent out of class and now would be ineligible to play basketball for the school. I sent the email below to his special ed case manager.

“Thanks Tom.  I did hear from the vice principal earlier this afternoon.  At this time I would like to formally request a meeting to be attended by the IEP team and the vice principal.  The “one size fits all” method of discipline is inconsistent with the recommended approaches for dealing with kids with FAS.

My understanding from the IEP meeting held in the fall, was that there was a plan in place to have E return to your room when he has been unsuccessful in the regular ed classroom versus shipping him directly to the focus room. I am unsure if this is still happening.  The letter sent home today stated that he said the word “masturbation” out loud while the teacher was talking.  I have to believe that there was a better way to handle this type of situation.

Please advise on a day and time that we can meet.

Thank you,”

If you read the email closely then you know that the offense today was saying the word “masturbation” out loud.  Can we get any more ridiculous?  Tom will be attending this meeting along with me.  It should be entertaining to say the least.  I’ll keep you posted.

2 thoughts on “the continued saga

  1. How do you have any strength to do your school work? Any time I talked to E he was such a gentleman and so sweet. You and Tom are in my thoughts and prayers daily.

  2. Thank you Ruth. I am actually taking a break from school work right now. I actually get a tremendous amount of work done from my couch using my laptop. Day to day with E is full of peaks and valleys. For the most part if he is sitting in front of the computer watching hip hop dancing videos all is good. It is only when demands are placed on him that we have issues. And yes we do continue to put demands on him despite the eruptions that occur.

    I hope that you are well. Take care and thanks for commenting on my blog. The comments are very affirming.

Leave a Reply

