i’m free

This week marked the 1/2 way point in my road to earning a masters degree.  I have completed 3 out of 6 semesters and have managed to earn a darn good GPA.  It could not have been accomplished without the support of my wonderful “Cinderfella,” Tom.  All of the laundry, refereeing, dinner making and shopping has not gone unnoticed.  We will be rewarding ourselves with a little trip down to Cancun in about 3 1/2 weeks.

In between paper writing over the past month I have been researching the tourist attractions in Cancun.  I have stumbled on some great websites where fellow travelers share the lessons they learned on trips to Cancun and other regions.  I know not to book any tours through the hotel as they are more expensive.  Friends have also been helpful in recommending some must sees.  I was ready to book a tour to a small island to the tune of about $79 per person, only to find out from Tom’s infusion nurse that you can get to the island by a $3 ferry ride and explore all day for free.  Sounds great to me.

Tours themselves make me a bit nervous.  The control freak in me wants to determine how long I will stay in a particular place. To tour the Mayan Ruins, one of the must sees, I will need to endure a long bus ride and a set itinerary. Luckily it is only one day out of five.  We plan to spend most of our time in the sun and exploring the crowded and hopefully safe streets, shops and restaurants of Cancun itself. Getting through Christmas stress and the kids Winter break should be easier knowing that I have a great time ahead of me.

The plan for the rest of the week is to bake, shop, wrap and enjoy.

Leave a Reply

