dear editor

Prior to starting to blog I would write the occasional letter to the editor of the St. Paul Pioneer Press.  Two of my letters were published, one a criticism on another authors piece regarding immigration and a second that pointed out the absurdity of another author’s attitude towards Christmas.

I submitted the letter below in response to an event that took place in my city.

Dear Editor,

For the past several days members of the St. Paul Fire Department have been actively accepting donations for the annual “fill the boot” campaign.  I have nothing against our public servants soliciting charitable donations, however, I do have a problem with the methods they employed and the potential risks to public safety that resulted from these methods.  I was present at the intersections of Snelling and Selby and Cleveland and Ford Pkwy on separate afternoons this week.  I witnessed fire fighters standing on the corners holding up signs seemingly in an effort to get the attention of drivers waiting at the stoplight.  On both occasions a firefighter entered traffic lanes and walked between cars so drivers could drop money into the boot.   A great deal of attention has been paid in the media recently regarding the risk to public safety that distracted drivers pose.   At the risk of sounding like a curmudgeon, doesn’t anyone else see the irony in this?

I just had to get that off my chest.

One thought on “dear editor

  1. You’re very right! I risked both my vehicle and the firefighters life when I “donated” to the boot in rush hour traffic in downtown St. Paul last week!

Leave a Reply

