quote

As I continue to struggle in my role as parent to a child with special needs, I am desperate to find the magical ‘how to” manuel.  Despite the numerous books, blogs and reference articles I have poured over during the past 6 years, the manuel is elusive.  Most days I yearn just to cope and get through the day.  As a wise therapist once said “when all the children are in bed and nobody died, it has been  a good day.”  Today I reread an article from the December 2008 issue of The Catholic Spirit by Emilie Lemmons, a writer and Mother who faced  terminal cancer.  Although our situations are vastly different, her words brought me comfort and a yearning for the true peace that living them out would provide.

“What if I allow myself to put the outcome in God’s hands and just live intensely in the present, absorbing and embracing life as it happens?”

                                                                                    -Emilie Lemmons

 

Words to live by

One thought on “quote

Leave a Reply

