tanning

The thought of getting into a bathing  suit in February is a bit weird for me.  The thought of looking at pasty white skin is even worse.  When you live in MN the baring of skin is done very gradually as the weather warms up.  We go from long sleeved t-shirts to short sleeved.  Eventually we get out the tank tops.  Capri pants ease us into shorts.  Along the way our skin gets gradually used to the sun and we might even start to get a healthy but safe glow.

I decided to look into the phenomenon that has taken off in the world of artificial tanning, the airbrush or spray on tan.  It basically involves stepping nude into a shower stall and having self-tanning solution misted onto your skin.  It offers the healthy  glow without the unhealthy rays.  The effect lasts for 5-7 days.  I found a coupon on the Cabana Tan website that offers 3 applications for $39.00.  Considering the amount of money that is being spent on this trip to Florida, this seems a small price to pay to instill some self confidence in my appearance as a I bare myself on the beach or poolside.

My sister Betty could care less and would rather spend $39.00 on fruity umbrella topped drinks.  The jury is still out on Cathy as I have not yet had a chance to tell her about my find.  The tanning attendant suggested that I have an application done before I leave just to try it out.  It makes sense and so I plan to schedule an appt for Wed aftn.  I hope to wake up Thursday morning looking like I spent a week in the sun.  If I wake up a shade of tangerine at least I know it will be worn off by the time my flight leaves the following Wed eve.

If there is anyone out there with a personal experience to share or any related advice I would love to hear from you.  The clock is ticking.

Leave a Reply

