dilemma

My sister is going to Florida for a conference at the end of the month and she wants me and my other sister to join her there for the weekend.  My dilemma is the fact that I hate to fly.  I’m embarrased to say that at the age of 42 I have only flown 3x.  This fear is not based completely in irrationality.  I have physical reactions to the changes in altitude that are similar to the sensations you get from riding in a super fast elevator when it comes to a stop.  It is really uncomfortable and catches me off guard which makes for a tense ride.

I think I can overcome my fears through the use of Xanax and alcohol but do I want to go to all the trouble and discomfort for just a weekend of fun.  The trip would require changing planes which just doubles the fun.

The trip would also cost about $500 when it is all said and done.  Again, I question if 48 hours in 80 degrees is worth it?  I’m open to suggestions and comments at this point.  Do other people just drop that kind of money on a weekend without blinking an eye?  Am I cheap?  Help me out here folks.  Tom and the boys will be gone that same weekend at Boy Scout camp so the idea of being alone in my house for 48 hours is much more appealing. 

On other topics, I have been consistently exercising since before Christmas.  I paid $25 for a one year pass to the St. Paul Parks and Rec fitness rooms and walking tracks.  I think this deal is the best kept secret in St. Paul.  I have been going 3x per week and walking 25 min on the treadmill and then using the machines for a “full body workout.”  I’d like to say that I am doing this because I realize the merits of exercise but in reality I am trying to kick my chronic headaches which I have struggled with for as long as I can remember.

Every MD that I have ever gone to has said that exercise is the best cure.  I have yet to feel any benefit but am committed to continuing.  I also purchased a new age guided imagery CD for relaxation and because I clench my teeth when I am stressed, a new mouth guard to wear when I sleep.  Talk about a New Years Resolution.  So far the CD is only transporting me to sleep, something I already do pretty well.  I think that I need to start listening to it in my living room chair instead of in bed. 

Well I’m off to weigh my choices over a brandy 7 while I wait for dinner to come out of the oven.

3 thoughts on “dilemma

  1. Of course you should come, Bear!! $500- is a lot of money -no argument there. And, yes, there are folks who drop that kind of money all the time. But, as you well know, we (Cathy, you, and I) drop that money on education for our kids, doing things for our parents, and giving to the church. A first in a lifetime trip to Florida is OK. And, nothing will help those headaches like a poolside fruity drink with a little umbrella in it! 🙂

  2. I would give it some more thought Bear. You deserve to spend your money as much as the heating man. Besides, I bet if you were flying with Betty and I, you wouldn’t even notice a little altitude change. Remember, you’ve always flown by yourself before. And those fruity drinks can be so therapeutic.

Leave a Reply

